| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
logicman_alf
Corporal

 Joined: Aug 18, 2006 Posts: 72 Location: UK
|
Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 7:00 am Post subject: forum spambots |
|
|
Forum operators should be on their guard against a new generation of forum spambots.
These use a very primitive AI algorithm, a bit like the ALICE and ELIZA programs, snagging up a phrase and firing it back.
Typically, the bot will plant a 'thnx for that' message as an excuse to plant a 'sig' with hyperlinks.
The purpose there is to boost sites in google ratings.
A classic example of this would be bablorub's posts - just google it.
There have been recent posts by spambot
username boebtpstaacl
boebtpstaacl@8nfoblog.cn
ICQ 15663615
The following URLs are posted by this bot:
clicking on a credit card image shows url:
hxxp://seobox.net/in.cgi?16&group=forumbt
seobox is in some blacklists.
note the 'forumbt' - cute!
ordinary hypertext urls:
transfer-balance-offer-visa.prmotions-card-now.cn
creditcards-rewaeds-now.cn
transfer-balances-chase.amazing-carrds-now.cn
transfers-saving-limit-to.bonouscreditcard-now.cn
creditcards-incenctives-now.cn
transfer-balance-2000.cardsbenefits-now.cn
transfer-balance-search.creditpromotions-now.cn
0balance-transfer-transfer-balance.goodies-creditcards-now.cn
freebies-credit-now.cn
transfer-balance-offers-free.instantresultscardact-now.cn
transfur-airline-miles-to.cardbenefits-now.cn
banlance-transfer.card-advantages-now.cn
cardsbenefits-now.cn
transfer-balance-checks-amex.creditcard-flexiblerewards-now.cn
transfer-balance-credit-cards.prmotionscredit-now.cn
loyaltyprogramscreditcards-now.cn
transfer-balance-amount-until.bestdards-now.cn
creditspecialpromos-now.cn
transfer-account-balance.prizescreditcard-now.cn
insentivescreditcard-now.cn
I have tagged all these in WOT and SA as a fraud alert.
They can only have one purpose: a criminal purpose.
Any help with checking these further will be greatly appreciated.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
logicman_alf
Corporal

 Joined: Aug 18, 2006 Posts: 72 Location: UK
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
AlphaCentauri
SIRT Handler Premium Member
 Joined: Nov 20, 2003 Posts: 2765
|
Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 3:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
In an interesting twist, I have also seen this type of forum post that appeared to be trying to get higher search engine ranking than a page exposing a group of websites as scams.
During that time period, the sites themselves were unavailable, but multiple forums had users register with the site URLs as unames (eg, a new user named "scamsite.com" or whatever) and including that URL and perhaps one or two others of the group in his sig. The posts themselves were lame but innocuous and relatively on-topic, not typical spam that would be easily recognized as such.
Googling any of the domain names would produce pages and pages of these forum posts, with the page describing them as a scam pushed down in the ranking.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
logicman_alf
Corporal

 Joined: Aug 18, 2006 Posts: 72 Location: UK
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
logicman_alf
Corporal

 Joined: Aug 18, 2006 Posts: 72 Location: UK
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
logicman_alf
Corporal

 Joined: Aug 18, 2006 Posts: 72 Location: UK
|
Posted: Tue Jul 01, 2008 10:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
This single domain was added to hosts file at winhelp2002 (see above)
track dot acclaimnetwork dot com
It's an affiliate site used by all above domains, and probably more.
Nicely spotted by these folks. 
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
|