CastleCops, Internet Crime Fighters
Need help? Click here to register for free! Absolutely zero advertisements on this site!

$9736.22 of $21422.68
left sidedonated so farneed $11686.46 donated to reach our goalright side, our goal
Help CastleCops serve the community on new servers, Donate Here to reach our goal.

Donation/Premium
spacer
block bottom
Security Central
spacer
· Home
· PIRT/Fried Phish
· MIRT
· SIRT
· Deutsch
· Wiki
· Newsletter
· O16/ActiveX
· CLSID List
· Contest2007
· Downloads
· Feedback (send)
· Forums
· HijackThis
· Hijacktrend
· LSPs
· My Downloads
· O18
· O20
· O21
· O22
· O23
· O9
· Premium
· Private Messages
· Proxomitron
· Reviews
· Search
· StartupList
· Stories Archive
· Submit News
· WsIRT
· Your Account
· Acceptable Use Policy
block bottom
Survey
spacer
Was 2007 a good year?

Yes it was a wonderful year
Yes, but there is always room for improvement
Status quo
It was a challenge
Other (leave comment)



Results
Polls

Votes: 927
Comments: 25
block bottom
spacer spacer

MSN Messenger phishing

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> Phishing, Fraud and Dastardly Deeds [del.icio.us!] [digg it!] [reddit!]
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jm2007

Cadet
Cadet


Joined: Aug 15, 2007
Posts: 6
Location: Spain

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 5:46 am    Post subject: MSN Messenger phishing
Reply with quote

This site goads visitors into revealing their MSN Messenger password so that they can:

"check if any of your MSN Messenger contacts has blocked or deleted you. It works in a very simple way: all you have to do is enter your MSN info, that is your email address and your password, in the form above and voila! You'll see a list with all the contacts that have blocked or deleted you."

Of course, you should reveal this information to a web site that devoid of any contact information and has registered their web site through Domains by Proxy, right? The only thing lacking here is a free headband that has the word "sucker" on it in bold letters. Other sites run by the same scammers that are clones if this site:

64.22.85.6 scanmessenger.com

And also this sites, at the same hosting (Global Net Access) and the same registrar (GoDaddy)

64.22.85.6 messenger-list.net
64.22.85.6 messengercheck.biz
64.22.85.6 messengerstatus.biz
64.22.85.6 check-messenger.biz
64.22.85.6 checkmessenger.biz
64.22.85.6 messenger-list.biz
64.22.85.6 messengerscan.com
64.22.85.6 messengerscan.info
64.22.85.6 messengerscan.net
64.22.85.6 messengerstatus.net
64.22.85.6 scanmessenger.info
64.22.85.6 scanmessenger.net

At this time, all those sites are considered PHISHING by Netcraft, McAfee and being banned from Google Adsense, among others.

Thanks

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
brewt

SIRT Handler
Premium Member

Joined: May 29, 2007
Posts: 772
Location: USA
MIRT Premium

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:43 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

What does PIRT say?

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
downie

PIRT Handler


Joined: May 19, 2006
Posts: 3592

Phishing Squad

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 8:43 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

This particular member of PIRT says

Quote:
Not-a-phish-because-no-brand-impersonation-but-you-definitely-take-your-identity-in-your-own-hands-and-give-out-your-friends'-details-to-a-third-party-which-breaches-THEIR-privacy-and-that would-really-annoy-me!

Cool


_________________
"For evil to triumph utterly, it is only necessary that good men do nothing"
Back to top
View users profile Send private message
brewt

SIRT Handler
Premium Member

Joined: May 29, 2007
Posts: 772
Location: USA
MIRT Premium

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:34 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Thanks for the response.

This kind of site has been voted "not a phish" at phishtank.com frequently.
I've been voting "I don't know".

Looking into it a bit more now...

Quote:
Phishing is:

"...falsely claiming to be an established legitimate enterprise in an
attempt to scam the user into surrendering private information"

www.michigan.gov/cybersecurity/0,1607,7-217-34415---,00.html


I don't think it's a phish to say "give me your password so I can unlock special features of MSN" or somesuch.
It's definitely shady though, and most likely a scam.
It also probably violates MSN's AUP (sharing password with 3rd party).

some more discussion/debate on this over at phishtank users mailing list:
Is checkmessenger.net a phish?
let the debates begin...again!

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
jm2007

Cadet
Cadet


Joined: Aug 15, 2007
Posts: 6
Location: Spain

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:38 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

After successfull reports doing by some experienced reviewers and security experts, the site ScanMessenger.com was banned from Google Adsense and considered PHISHING by McAfee and Netcraft

And now, here you have the "new version" after scanmessenger being "almost" dead...

The new phishing site is http://www.checkmessenger3.com

I'm reporting this site to Netcraft, McAfee and Google Adsense... Could you help me with your own abuse report?

More reports = More efficiency to stop this.

Thanks!

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> Phishing, Fraud and Dastardly Deeds All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Quick Reply:
Username: 

Quote the last message
Attach signature (signatures can be changed in profile)
 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
spacer spacer