|
Donation/Premium |
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Survey |
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
ahoier
SIRT Handler
 Joined: Jan 14, 2006 Posts: 1020 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 1:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
I've seen mixed responses from Tucows and well, DNS.COM.CN - largely because DNS.COM.CN has URIBL filtering on their mailbox.
***PASTE_INTO_http://reports.internic.net/cgi/registrars/problem-report.cgi could be included alongside those registrars.
Perhaps the InterNIC notice would land in their inbox, paste their filtering.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Krivoi
Sergeant

 Joined: Mar 03, 2008 Posts: 83 Location: Uk
|
Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 10:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi everyone
Assistance required! Could someone please run Complainterator on this one and send the report(s) and add any new registrars in this thread as appropriate. I realise the domain is the bit after the first dot, ie the "f-word" , but it's throwing up two new registrars and one looks like it's their own name servers. I'm a bit out of my depth & I don't want to get it wrong so any comments welcome. Remove any spaces and replace DOT with a "." character:
h tt p : // evaluation DOT fmcaction DOT org/r DOT html
Thanks
K
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
AlphaCentauri
SIRT Handler Premium Member
 Joined: Nov 20, 2003 Posts: 2617
|
Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 10:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Good call -- hostingfrance.com doesn't look like a spammer domain! You can see from the whois that it was registered 5 years ago, so although occasionally a spammer gets a name that sounds pretty official, it usually won't be around that long.
GandiSAS isn't new, they just act on spam so fast that any spammer with the sense he was born with will avoid them. It's already in the Complainterator contacts.txt file, so I don't know why the program prompts you for another address. You can just copy it out of the contacts file and paste it in when prompted. If you get any registrars that aren't in that file, you can find accredited registrars at www.icann.org/registrars/accreditation-qualified-list.html . For unaccredited registrars, you have to go to each registrar's website and poke around to find a contact address.
In this case, fmcaction.org appears to be a legit site that got hacked. The file "r.html" has already been removed. evaluation.fmcaction.org is still there and is a login page, but I'm guessing that since the owner took down "r.html," he's removed the unauthorized user, too. So unless you find any other files on that domain that look squirrelly, the site owner has already taken care of the problem.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Krivoi
Sergeant

 Joined: Mar 03, 2008 Posts: 83 Location: Uk
|
Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks, AlphaCentauri - very helpful. Yes, I could see it looked different from the usual Xin Net style emails I see so glad I asked.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
efa
Sergeant

 Joined: Aug 31, 2007 Posts: 111 Location: Italy
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
tembow
Blue Angel Premium Member
 Joined: Oct 10, 2005 Posts: 2881
|
Posted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 8:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
efa
If you find a registrar who is not in the existing list, please add it in this forum topic.
Put in the web site name that used the registrar, and optionally the registrar and contact address.
For updates to the Complainterator contact list:
Spammed domain = ____________________
Registrar = ____________________________
Contact = _________[at]______._____
Of these 3 items, the first is mandatory, the 2nd and 3rd are optional.
E-mail via the complainterator.com contacts page, or append to this forum
If you find that a complaint is rejected because an existing email address is no longer valid, please provide the mail bounce message here, too.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
efa
Sergeant

 Joined: Aug 31, 2007 Posts: 111 Location: Italy
|
Posted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 1:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apart the capital version of existing registrar, I dont remember what are the domain implicated.... but I can search in the sended complaint.
Tomorrow
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
ahoier
SIRT Handler
 Joined: Jan 14, 2006 Posts: 1020 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 2:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Is this the right thread to report name servers that shouldn't be requested to be shut-down (I.e.: the old GANDI incident lol)?
| Code: | Subject: Removal request: nease.net
NETWORK SOLUTIONS, LLC.
This is a request for you to remove the domain nease.net
and to remove its name server Address record ns.nease.net [202.106.185.75], and ns3.nease.net [220.181.28.3] |
Psst, I didn't send it
Updated in next release
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
trobbins
SIRT Handler Premium Member
 Joined: Feb 19, 2007 Posts: 1166 Location: USA
|
Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 6:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Dynamic Dolphin
Failure:
was not delivered to: <info@dynamicdolphin.com>
because: Error transferring to 3744772.mx.DYNAMICDOLPHIN.COM; SMTP Protocol Returned a Permanent Error 550 5.1.1 <info@dynamicdolphin.com>: Recipient address rejected: User unknown in relay recipient table
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
jimVO
Sergeant
 Premium Member
 Joined: Mar 17, 2008 Posts: 139 Location: USA
|
Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 3:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
I think Dynamic Dolphin has been "tweaking" their mail servers all day today. They are using surbl filtering and have been rejecting more and more reports all day. I even obfuscated all references to offending sites and got rejected. I have taken to posting spam complaints to their web form at:
http://dynamicdolphin.com/reports.php?action=report_spam
Don't know if that will do any good either.
Also all my complaints to cnadm@hichina.com have been getting rejected in the same way and I don't have an alternative means of filing complaints for them.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
tembow
Blue Angel Premium Member
 Joined: Oct 10, 2005 Posts: 2881
|
Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 5:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
ICANN has:
Dynamic Dolphin, Inc. (United States)
http://www.dynamicdolphin.com
Tel: 1-720-872-3477
Email: info ~at~ dynamicdolphin.com
MX record has
dynamicdolphin.com. 38400 IN MX 100 3744772.mx.dynamicdolphin.com.
Address of mail servers shows as
3744772.mx.dynamicdolphin.com. 14400 IN A 209.62.87.245
3744772.mx.dynamicdolphin.com. 14400 IN A 67.15.238.68
Web site contact us page has
Name: Dynamic Dolphin
Company: Dynamic Dolphin, Inc
Address: 5023 W 120th Ave #233, ,
City: Broomfield
State: Colorado
Country: US
Zip: 80020
Telephone Number : 1-7208723477
Fax Number : 1-3034961710
Email Address : admin ~at~ dynamicdolphin.com
Technical Support Telephone Number : 1-7208723477
Email Address : techsupport ~at~ dynamicdolphin.com
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
ahoier
SIRT Handler
 Joined: Jan 14, 2006 Posts: 1020 Location: USA
|
Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 1:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
sounds good Let's roll them all into our little party ^^
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Jim_P
Sergeant
 Premium Member
 Joined: Apr 19, 2004 Posts: 128
|
Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 3:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| ahoier wrote: | sounds good Let's roll them all into our little party ^^ |
A bit of digging into Dynamic Dolphin revealed that it is owned by a company called CPA Empire, which in turn is owned by Media Breakaway LLC. Its CEO is Scott Richter, a notorious, self-avowed spammer who claims to have quit the business.
The above from a Knujon memo.
With this connection I say we have our work cut out for us.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
ahoier
SIRT Handler
 Joined: Jan 14, 2006 Posts: 1020 Location: USA
|
Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 4:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
_that's_ where I read it - the KnujOn memo....lately, all my sources kinda slide and combine into each other, forgetting where I read what.
Seems Dynamic Dolphin is appears a lot in my sister's mailbox.....she's one to "punch the monkey" and fall for other such banner ads...and submit her address to slews of "opt-in" services.
A lot of the spam domain she receives for free handbags, samples, magazines, surveys, etc. "give aways" (if it can be considered that, since she likely gave them her address...somewhere along the line) is registered by Dynamic Dolphin.
As if they are trying to run a valid business, but I wouldn't doubt it if they sell their lists to Herbal King/VPXL/Canadian Pharmacy and other associated bad-apples.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
AlphaCentauri
SIRT Handler Premium Member
 Joined: Nov 20, 2003 Posts: 2617
|
Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 5:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Jim_P wrote: | | Its CEO is Scott Richter, a notorious, self-avowed spammer who claims to have quit the business. |
That explains why I had never heard of this "top ten" spammer Dolphin.
I have a filter in complainterator that looks for Scott Richter's IP in the headers. It hadn't registered anything in a very long time. But I was checking someone else's email from my computer, and that filter got some hits. While I haven't unsubscribed from anything, I do send all the semi-compliant looking spam to spamcop. So apparently they did get the message and took me off their list.
As far as selling their lists, as far as I know that's legal, even though it isn't legal to harvest them. I can't imagine spammers giving up a source of income. Nor can I imagine them scrubbing their lists first, since they are sold on the basis of the number of addresses on the list, not the number who aren't anti's.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
|
You can post new topics in this forum You can reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You can attach files in this forum You can download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
|