| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
IP: 68.51.*.*
Guest
|
Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 7:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Ikeb wrote: |
Doesn't an 'Origin blacklisted' take precedence to filters ... unless the filter is set to take precedence over the Friends list? Is the filter set to take precedence? |
From my understanding the list in 'Spam Tools' is processed from Top Down so since 'My Filters' comes before 'Origin of Spam' a filter should catch something if it is to be caught by them, before the DNS spam blacklist servers have a whack at it.
Anyway since you say the filter should have caught it I'll keep an eye on it. I already know I have entered the filter rules correctly since it has hit on about three emails already.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ikeb
Special Response Team Forums Admin
 Joined: Apr 20, 2003 Posts: 16543
|
Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 8:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Anonymous wrote: | | Ikeb wrote: |
Doesn't an 'Origin blacklisted' take precedence to filters ... unless the filter is set to take precedence over the Friends list? Is the filter set to take precedence? |
From my understanding the list in 'Spam Tools' is processed from Top Down so since 'My Filters' comes before 'Origin of Spam' a filter should catch something if it is to be caught by them, before the DNS spam blacklist servers have a whack at it. |
OK. I haven't used the DNS Blacklist servers so I can't confirm.
| Anonymous wrote: | | Anyway since you say the filter should have caught it I'll keep an eye on it. I already know I have entered the filter rules correctly since it has hit on about three emails already. |
Now that I think about it some more .... not necessarily! Check my post in response to Cowboy. Note that the '@' sign should not be included. Yes you will get hits for any links that show your email address in the form 'AccountName@Server.Name' but the filter would miss links that show the two parts of your address separately.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Guest
Guest IP: 68.51.*.*
|
Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 8:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Ikeb wrote: |
Note that the '@' sign should not be included. |
Cool!! I'm using the filter from your first post. No '@' sign there.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ikeb
Special Response Team Forums Admin
 Joined: Apr 20, 2003 Posts: 16543
|
Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 10:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Guest wrote: | | Ikeb wrote: |
Note that the '@' sign should not be included. |
Cool!! I'm using the filter from your first post. No '@' sign there. |
OK, that's great .... I think. Are you the same guest that was having a problem earlier?
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
IP: 68.51.*.*
Guest
|
Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 11:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Ikeb wrote: | | Guest wrote: | | Ikeb wrote: |
Note that the '@' sign should not be included. |
Cool!! I'm using the filter from your first post. No '@' sign there. |
OK, that's great .... I think. Are you the same guest that was having a problem earlier? |
Wasn't a problem actually just an email that slipped past the filter for some reason but yea the only 'guest' that has been in this thread - so far - except for Cowboy.
As for the filter it was most likely a MW hiccup that let it past.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
cowboy
Guest IP: 213.112.*.*
|
Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 6:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've been using the redirected link filter for a while now and think it's pretty good, but I have had one bad hit.
I checked with Testregexp what part of the mail triggered the filter.
This is the part that was marked by Testregexp:
| Code: | <a href="http://rd.yahoo.com/SIG=12ctm40lg/M=267637.4116732.5333197.1261774/D=egroupweb/S=1705032277:
HM/EXP=1071201604/A=1853619/R=0/*http://www.netflix.com/Default?mqso=60178356&partid=4116732" alt=""> |
I suppose this is just a plain redirected link and there's really nothing to do about it.
The mail is from a mailing list which tags the mails like this and I found the same redirected link in other messages.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ikeb
Special Response Team Forums Admin
 Joined: Apr 20, 2003 Posts: 16543
|
Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 8:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Interesting! I found www.netflix.com to be a site selling CDs. So the mailing list just copies links from other emails perhaps? Ask yourself who is www.netflix.com to you and why should they be redirecting from behind a yahoo.com link? Perhaps you might want to contact the mailing list and find out how they determine what/who to promote in the mailouts.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Cowboy
Guest IP: 213.112.*.*
|
Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 11:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It's a yahoo based mailing list.
So the odd thing is that the link which appears to go to netflix is really a link to yahoo which is redirected to netflix which is where you thought you were going in the first place.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ikeb
Special Response Team Forums Admin
 Joined: Apr 20, 2003 Posts: 16543
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Cowboy
Guest IP: 213.112.*.*
|
Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2003 3:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
That is what happens, but the animated picture that you click on says Netflix very clearly and doesn't say anything about Yahoo.
My best guess is it's some form of tracking system for Yahoo to know what is being clicked. Maybe it can't work like that, but I don't know any better.
In any case it's not a false ling in the sense that you don't get to where you thought you would get.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ikeb
Special Response Team Forums Admin
 Joined: Apr 20, 2003 Posts: 16543
|
Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2003 6:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
| Cowboy wrote: | | That is what happens, but the animated picture that you click on says Netflix very clearly and doesn't say anything about Yahoo. |
I see. So there a graphic involved? I didn't notice that in the HTML code you posted. So the graphic itself says Netflix, which has nothing to do with the mouseover action I was referring to of course, but it does indicate that there's nothing too underhanded going on here.
| Cowboy wrote: | | My best guess is it's some form of tracking system for Yahoo to know what is being clicked. Maybe it can't work like that, but I don't know any better. |
I could be wrong but I don't think it works that way. Your browser determines where to go straight away; the redirection doesn't happen at the yahoo web site. The "obfuscation" occurs because the browser hides the redirection until after it takes place.
| Cowboy wrote: | | In any case it's not a false ling in the sense that you don't get to where you thought you would get. |
The way I look at it it's just a company protecting it's "web presence" .... it's just a coincidence that company has called itself "Yahoo".
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Cowboy
Guest IP: 213.112.*.*
|
Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2003 10:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
I don't see how they can protect their web presense with redirected links. 
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ikeb
Special Response Team Forums Admin
 Joined: Apr 20, 2003 Posts: 16543
|
Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2003 7:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Cowboy wrote: | I don't see how they can protect their web presense with redirected links.  |
Just by having the content being pointed to, appear to reside within the Yahoo web. Until you actually click on the link, there's nothing to indicate otherwise. While the graphic you referred to shows another company's logo, even it could easily reside within the Yahoo web.
Having said that, remember the SPAM you posted on Monday? It had a redirected gif link. Perhaps Yahoo uses graphic redirection to make it less obvious that even graphics are coming from outside their web? I would think any "benefit" would be marginal but perhaps Yahoo knows otherwise.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
|