Castlecops Newsletter Mailing List

CastleCops -> General Site

Author: blacklupineLocation: Over The Hills And Far Away! PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:48 pm    Post subject: Castlecops Newsletter Mailing List

I have received an email from 'newsletter-request@lists.castlecops.com' stating that due to excessive bounces my membership in the mailing list Newsletter has been disabled. As my email address is current and I have received and read all newsletters I am not sure if the email is legit or just a glitch in the system, has anyone else had similar? Please advise thanks.

Author: Wynne-RLocation: Texas PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 7:07 am    Post subject:

I got that too. I thought it was spam

— Wynn

Author: blacklupineLocation: Over The Hills And Far Away! PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 10:15 am    Post subject:

Thanks Wynn, was beginning to think it was just me!!

Author: blacklupineLocation: Over The Hills And Far Away! PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 10:21 am    Post subject:

I should add that if it is not legit I hope that nobody clicks on the links it contains!

Author: Paul PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 5:15 pm    Post subject:

Its legit. Here was the letter:

http://lists.castlecops.com/pipermail/newsletter/2007-June/000008.html

It contained a phish alert on a domain which was caught by ISP filters. Those catches our mailman saw as a bounce, so it bounced your memberships. Several hundred emails were affected.

Author: blacklupineLocation: Over The Hills And Far Away! PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:58 pm    Post subject:

Thanks Paul, I received the above newsletter ok it was the notification email from the mailman that came across as suspect due to having the following subject line:

Subject: confirm 4254b80dbb83629b7c97eea20e4e383758305455

Do those sent this email now have to confirm their membership?

Author: Paul PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 12:05 am    Post subject:

Yes only those that mailman deemed the email didn't arrive at successfully. The newsletter list is the most strictly configured this way.

Author: blacklupineLocation: Over The Hills And Far Away! PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 12:12 pm    Post subject:

So whilst I (and no doubt others) received the letter the mailman deemed that it was not received and therefore cancelled the memberships of those it saw as a bounce. It is therefore necessary to click on the link to renew membership.

Ok so at least that is clear now. wacko

Author: Paul PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 5:18 pm    Post subject:

Bingo

Author: blacklupineLocation: Over The Hills And Far Away! PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 6:59 pm    Post subject:

It would appear that the postman wants a smaller round! Laughing

Author: Wynne-RLocation: Texas PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:40 pm    Post subject:

Are you saying my ISP bounced an email?

I use a well regarded hosting service, the email comes with the website, and it’s my domain. Their POP’s are redundant and as far as I know have never been down. There is no filtering.

I’m not complaining, but if my email is bouncing, I need to have a talk with my hosting service.

— Wynn

Author: Paul PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 10:01 pm    Post subject:

If may have due to the domain I included in the newsletter.

Author: TarnakLocation: Australia PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2007 3:23 am    Post subject:

I have a guest account with Fastmail.com.au, and it did not bounce. Very Happy



CastleCops -> General Site

All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1


Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group