Credit Card Scam

CastleCops -> Phishing, Fraud and Dastardly Deeds

Author: mae_m PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 12:48 pm    Post subject: Credit Card Scam

An alert for those interested.

These sites are part of an elaborate stolen credit card scam that uses "mules" recruited through fake job listings to open bank and merchant accounts to run stolen credit card numbers through.

NONE of these sites actually sells website templates. They are all fraudulent. Most of the individuals who set the companies, bank and merchant accounts up were not aware that they were dupes in this scam.

Most of the sites are now showing a Internal Error 500! but I believe that to be a counter move on the scammers part. Here is a screen shot of the template:

http://img401.imageshack.us/my.php?image=toykdxg6.png

If you have a charge from one of these websites (most likely for 9.90) know that it is NOT legitimate and that your credit card information has been compromised. Report this as a fraudulent charge to your cc company and request that your cc account be closed and a new card and number be issued to you.

For additional information on how this scam operates please visit:

dslreports cc scam information

MGD at dslreports has been following this scam for years and has written extensively about it.

Quote:

http://www.ubrtemplate.com UBR Limited

http://www.info-templates.com InfoBite UK Ltd

http://www.gw-templates.com GW INTERNATIONAL INVESTMENT &TRADE CO.,LTD

http://www.cannydesign.com Canny IT Limited

http://www.akshartemplate.com Akshar Consultancy Limited

http://www.afrtemplate.com AFREZ6 Limited

http://www.vtdiz.com Vivid Technologies Ltd
.
http://www.tsdiz.com Techsets Ltd

http://www.sudiz.com Sucre Services Limited

http://www.gsdiz.com Greer Services Ltd

http://www.vividtemplates.net Vivid Technologies Ltd

http://www.techtemplate.net Techsets Ltd

http://www.sucretemplates.com Sucre Services Limited

http://www.infobite-templatestore.com Stonegate Ltd

http://www.ibtemplates.com InfoBite Solutions Limited

http://www.bbcv-templates.com Bubble Burst Creative Ventures Limited

http://www.bbctemplates.com Bubble Burst Creative Ventures Limited

http://www.toytemplates.com Toyk Design Ltd

http://www.simplytemplate.net Simply Websites Ltd

http://www.scorpiotemplates.com Scorpio Connect Ltd
.
http://www.infobitedesign.com INFOBITE SOFTWARE LIMITED

http://www.greerdesign.net Greer Services Ltd

http://www.gracefuldesign.net GRACEFUL MOVE LIMITED

http://www.creative-templates.net Creative Communications UK LTD

http://www.hephzitechdesign.com HEPHZITECH TECHNOLOGIES UK LIMITED

http://www.cctemplates.net Computer Consultants, LTD

http://www.ubrdiz.com UBR Limited

http://www.htdiz.com HEPHZITECH TECHNOLOGIES UK LIMITED

http://www.ibdiz.com InfoBite Solutions Limited

http://www.dizib.com INFOBITE SOFTWARE LIMITED

http://www.ccdiz.com Computer Consultants, LTD


Thread at aa419

Author: moike PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 7:10 pm    Post subject:

A fascinating case! I hope that they can close this scam method and determine the total scope - it may be even bigger than it looks here.

Author: Corrine PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2008 12:15 am    Post subject:

Thanks for the info, mae_m.

Coincidentally, someone named cannydesign registered at Freedomlist today, posted a couple of useless responses which were the first clue. Second was support @ cannydesign.com in the signature. A search brought me to this topic.

Not surprising: http://samspade.org/whois/85.29.195.72

Guess who is no longer able to post at FL? Smile

Author: mae_m PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:13 am    Post subject:

@ moike yes there is no doubt that there are hundreds of other sites used solely for this purpose. It is hard to fathom the access these criminals have to stolen credit card details.

@Corrine once I posted the urls the criminals began their attempts to knock any mention of fraud related to these sites down the search engine rankings by spamming forums.

These are the one they seem most interested in protecting:
Quote:
support @ cannydesign.com
support @ vividtemplates.net
support @ VTDIZ.COM
support @ techtemplate.net
support @ TSDIZ.COM
support @ sucretemplates.com
support @ SUDIZ.COM
support @ greerdesign.net
support @ GSDIZ.COM
support @ ibtemplates.com
support @ IBDIZ.COM
support @ infobitedesign.com
support @ DIZIB.COM
support @ cctemplates.net
support @ CCDIZ.COM

If victims were to search after seeing an unknown charge on their credit card they would not immediately find that the site is associated with the scheme.

Author: AlphaCentauri PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2008 1:05 pm    Post subject:

I tried viewing some of the pages on your protected list
cannydesign.com
vividtemplates.net
VTDIZ.COM
techtemplate.net
TSDIZ.COM
sucretemplates.com
SUDIZ.COM
greerdesign.net
GSDIZ.COM
ibtemplates.com
IBDIZ.COM
infobitedesign.com
DIZIB.COM
cctemplates.net
CCDIZ.COM

and they are all displaying the page "Internal Error 500!" But they aren't suspended.

It's an interesting forum spamming technique -- creating users with names like cannydesign.com, vividtemplates.net, techtemplate.net, sucretemplates.com etc. and registering them on websites all over the place. Apparently it gets pretty high page rank.

Author: S2raf PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 9:43 am    Post subject: Thanks

Just cancelled my 2 credit cards wich have been charged as you mentioned, thanks a lot for the info, you have made my day...

Author: thebondman PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:09 am    Post subject:

i got done by infobitedesign.com for £9.90 and promptly got intouch with my credit card company to change my card. the weird thing is emailed the fake websites support address and they actually gave me a reply and a refund Confused

Author: AlphaCentauri PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 12:09 pm    Post subject:

You folks are all cancelling these credit cards, right? This incident shows your credit card numbers are for sale on the world market; getting a refund is not enough.

Author: mae_m PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 12:06 am    Post subject:

@thebondman

Refunding the charge after a complaint is received is actually part of the criminals MO. They are hoping to minimize the number of fraud complaints sent to the merchant account. Too many complaints and they will get shut down. Better to quickly refund those (maybe 1-2%) who actually catch the charge and take the time to complain.



CastleCops -> Phishing, Fraud and Dastardly Deeds

All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1


Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group