| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
Ali8513
Cadet
 Premium Member
 Joined: Jan 22, 2007 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:19 am Post subject: PCButts1 Under Attack? |
|
|
Has anybody heard about this? PCButts1, who I understand has been stealing the software of other people and putting it on his website is the object of an Denial Of Service Attack by somebody. I checked out his blog and he seems to know what is going on.
If you google his name, it seems like the guy has pissed off everyone in the spyware community.
I am new to this, but I would like to know more about this guy if you know anything. I had trouble with my computer and he posted something to help me, but it was strange that the download he gave me needed a long password, even though it was free.
I would appreciate anything you know to help me.
By the way, great site!
This is his blog link I saw:
hxxp://pcbutts1-therealtruth.blogspot.com/index.html
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
PCBruiser
SRT Team Lead
 Forums Admin
 Joined: May 11, 2005 Posts: 11723
|
Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 2:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Moved to Web Malware Links. Check out the site please. It is blocked for me. _________________ Don't read? Can't learn!
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ali8513
Cadet
 Premium Member
 Joined: Jan 22, 2007 Posts: 6
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Cudni
Special Response Team
 Joined: Dec 10, 2002 Posts: 3708 Location: Et In Arcadia ego
|
Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
it was mucked on purpose, please don't repost, any subsequent messages will be removed. If it is going to be visited whoever does it will know how to.
also check this forum capital rule
/t171278-READ_FIRST.html
Cudni _________________ Hecho en Mexico
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ali8513
Cadet
 Premium Member
 Joined: Jan 22, 2007 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 12:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry.... 
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
JeanInMontana
Sergeant
 Premium Member
 Joined: Jun 20, 2005 Posts: 148
|
Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hehe that is not a malicious link. However PCButts is a software theif! The programs on his download site that he claims as his have been stolen from the real developers. Do not trust his advice or use his software. _________________ MontanaMenagerie
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ali8513
Cadet
 Premium Member
 Joined: Jan 22, 2007 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 6:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Jean is right. The link is just to a blog and there is no links or downloads on the site at all.
I am not sure why it was moved to this thread.
Can somebody tell me why?
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Cudni
Special Response Team
 Joined: Dec 10, 2002 Posts: 3708 Location: Et In Arcadia ego
|
Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 7:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I will answer in part both your IM and your post in the thread. Links are purposely crippled to prevent people accidentally clicking on anything that might infect their computer. People who check malware links know how to restore the link. The fact that link turns out not to be malicious is neither here nor there, it was not known at the time and that is how and why your post ended up here so that it can be checked. It turns out from your IM that you know sufficiently about this guy for me to understand that there shouldn't be a direct link to his site. There is no need increase the traffic to his site by direct linking.
Cudni _________________ Hecho en Mexico
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ali8513
Cadet
 Premium Member
 Joined: Jan 22, 2007 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 9:05 pm Post subject: Additional Information |
|
|
I sent you a PM on this...
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Cudni
Special Response Team
 Joined: Dec 10, 2002 Posts: 3708 Location: Et In Arcadia ego
|
Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 9:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
there is no need for the direct link to this person's site, as far i'm concerned, people can always google if sufficiently interested from the info in your post.
Cudni _________________ Hecho en Mexico
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
|