CastleCops, Internet Crime Fighters
Need help? Click here to register for free! Absolutely zero advertisements on this site!

Donation/Premium
spacer
block bottom
Security Central
spacer
· Home
· PIRT/Fried Phish
· MIRT
· SIRT
· Deutsch
· Wiki
· Newsletter
· O16/ActiveX
· CLSID List
· Contest2007
· Downloads
· Feedback (send)
· Forums
· HijackThis
· Hijacktrend
· LSPs
· My Downloads
· O18
· O20
· O21
· O22
· O23
· O9
· Premium
· Private Messages
· Proxomitron
· Reviews
· Search
· StartupList
· Stories Archive
· Submit News
· WsIRT
· Your Account
· Acceptable Use Policy
block bottom
spacer spacer

[MIRT#767] Trojan-Downloader on 85.255.114.165 AS36445

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> MIRT Reports [del.icio.us!] [digg it!] [reddit!]
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tetak

MIRT Team Lead
Premium Member

Joined: Jan 19, 2007
Posts: 5879

MIRT Premium

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2007 7:33 pm    Post subject: [MIRT#767] Trojan-Downloader on 85.255.114.165 AS36445
Reply with quote

Malware Alert
 
 Full Report: CastleCops Link/Trojan_Downloader_malware767.html
 
 Changed status to confirmed malware.


IP Converted: 85.255.114.165

dword = 1442804389
hex1 = 0x55ff72a5
hex2 = 0x55.0xff.0x72.0xa5
oct = 0125.0377.0162.0245

View CIDR AS36445 Report: http://www.cidr-report.org/cgi-bin/as-report?as=36445

"36445 | US | arin | 2006-01-05 | CERNEL-ASN - Cernel, Inc"<br />

Extended information for AS36445:
State/Province: ca
Country: us
Responsible Domain: cernel.net
Abuse Email: abuse@cernel.net

in.php at this location is malware known as Trojan-Downloader.JS.Psyme.cz (Kaspersky)
Quote:
http://85.255.114.165/itcall/in.php?adv=20

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
tembow

Blue Angel
Premium Member

Joined: Oct 10, 2005
Posts: 2945

Blue Security Premium

PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 9:50 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Ref CastleCops Link/Trojan_Downloader_malware767.html
The WHOIS shows this as an IP in Europe

Quote:
country: EU
but the ASN lookups indicate it is in the US
Quote:
"36445 | 85.255.112.0/20 | BY | ripencc | 2005-06-16"
"27595 | 85.255.114.0/23 | BY | ripencc | 2005-06-16"


A whois lookup on the IP address gives the abuse address in the Ukraine
Quote:
person: Andrew Sotov
address: Mechnikova 58/5 65029 Odessa
abuse-mailbox: abuse@ukrtelegroup.com.ua
phone: +380487311011


The traceroutes to the site indicates it is in the US.

Something is fishy.

Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AIM Address
tembow

Blue Angel
Premium Member

Joined: Oct 10, 2005
Posts: 2945

Blue Security Premium

PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 12:09 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

A recent analysis of the Apple OSX malware located these DNS IPs

procodec1000:
s1=85.255.116.61
s2=85.255.112.103

ultracodec1000:
s1=85.255.115.34
s2=85.255.112.158

Whois lookup gives a Ukraine contact

person: Andrew Sotov
address: Mechnikova 58/5 65029 Odessa
abuse-mailbox: abuse@ukrtelegroup.com.ua

Smells fishier still


_________________
Recommended - EU Spam Database - Especially the wiki
Also Blog and site exposes spammers
And Hijacked machines recovery
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> MIRT Reports All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Quick Reply:
Username: 

Quote the last message
Attach signature (signatures can be changed in profile)
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
spacer spacer