|
Donation/Premium |
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
AplusWebMaster
General

 Joined: Mar 14, 2004 Posts: 4845 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 12:23 pm Post subject: C-NetMedia - deceptive... deceptive... and deceptive |
|
|
FYI...
- http://www.benedelman.org/news/021408-1.html
February 14, 2008 - "Not every "anti-spyware" program is what it claims to be. Some truly have users' interests at heart - identifying and removing bona fide risks to privacy, security, stability, or performance. Others resort to a variety of tricks to confuse users about what they're getting and why they purportedly need it. This article reports the results of my examination of anti-spyware software from C-NetMedia...
* Deceptive advertising, deceptive product names, and deceptive web site designs falsely suggest affiliation with security industry leaders...
* The use of many disjoint product names prevents consumers from easily learning more about C-Net, its reputation, and its practices...
* High-pressure sales tactics, including false positives, overstate the urgency of paying for an upgraded version...
Note that C-NetMedia is unrelated to the well-known technology news site CNET Networks..."
(Screenshots available at the URL above.)
 _________________ AplusWebMaster
~ Are you up to date or vulnerable to Hackers? ...or both?
.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
AplusWebMaster
General

 Joined: Mar 14, 2004 Posts: 4845 Location: USA
|
Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 5:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Arrgghh...
- http://sunbeltblog.blogspot.com/2008/02/incredible-c-netmedia-still-continues.html
February 19, 2008 - "It was last week, on the 14th, that Ben Edelman showed that C-NetMedia (not to be confused with CNET) was using highly deceptive advertising to lure people to its sites. It’s still going on, despite press on the matter.
This morning, a search for SpyBot again shows C-NetMedia trying to trick people into thinking their site (spywarebot.com) is Spybot’s... And a search for Ad-Aware still has their ad for adwarealert.com. HIGHLY deceptive... (And we all know that many people will click on the first result, not fully understanding that it’s a sponsored link). Then, look what these crooks are doing with Microsoft Antispyware... I’m afraid it’s going to take the FTC to handle this one. Apparently the search engines aren’t self-policing on this one."
(Screenshots available at the URL above.)
 _________________ AplusWebMaster
~ Are you up to date or vulnerable to Hackers? ...or both?
.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
|
You can post new topics in this forum You can reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You can attach files in this forum You can download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
|