CastleCops, Internet Crime Fighters
Need help? Click here to register for free! Absolutely zero advertisements on this site!

Donation/Premium
spacer
block bottom
Security Central
spacer
· Home
· PIRT/Fried Phish
· MIRT
· SIRT
· Deutsch
· Wiki
· Newsletter
· O16/ActiveX
· CLSID List
· Contest2007
· Downloads
· Feedback (send)
· Forums
· HijackThis
· Hijacktrend
· LSPs
· My Downloads
· O18
· O20
· O21
· O22
· O23
· O9
· Premium
· Private Messages
· Proxomitron
· Reviews
· Search
· StartupList
· Stories Archive
· Submit News
· WsIRT
· Your Account
· Acceptable Use Policy
block bottom
spacer spacer

Phish site?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> Phishing, Fraud and Dastardly Deeds [del.icio.us!] [digg it!] [reddit!]
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mrrockford

News Admin
News Admin
AVPE Host
AVPE Host

Joined: Apr 24, 2004
Posts: 3010

Forums Admin MVP Premium Team F@H

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:44 am    Post subject: Phish site?
Reply with quote

www.priceadventure.com

this link

http://click.linksynergy.com/fs-bin/click?id=5j0VrB1hp7s&offerid=97888.10000182&type=4&subid=0


_________________
"Anyone who considers protocol unimportant has never dealt with a cat."

L. Long
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website
moike

PIRT Handler
Premium Member

Joined: May 26, 2006
Posts: 1871

Phishing Squad Premium

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 2:01 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

When I go to that site, I see carsdirect.com. The warning flag is that the page is not SSL but it asks for SS#, etc. When I do a test submit, it seems to be SSL, but there's no way for a user to know that.

From my vague recollection and quick research, carsdirect.com seems to be a legit business, but with some sloppy pages.

Does that agree with what you saw?

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
mrrockford

News Admin
News Admin
AVPE Host
AVPE Host

Joined: Apr 24, 2004
Posts: 3010

Forums Admin MVP Premium Team F@H

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 2:31 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Yes Sir. I just wasn't sure with the missing ssl. It also looks to be some kind of affiliate set up.


_________________
"Anyone who considers protocol unimportant has never dealt with a cat."

L. Long
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website
faith_michele

PIRT Handler


Joined: Dec 26, 2005
Posts: 2656

MVP Phishing Squad

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 8:39 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

No where in their Privacy Policy do they state they will collect a SSN.

http://priceadventure.com/site/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=73&Itemid=105


There is no data on this site, good or bad at SiteAdvisor. Anyone can register there and make useful comments. Type in the site at the bottom right (as you are looking at it).

http://www.siteadvisor.com/


Their User Agreement is linked to edmunds.com URL: http://www.edmunds.com/townhall/memberagreement.html)

Quote:
Edmunds, Inc. publishes Web sites for automotive consumers, enthusiasts, and insiders. Its Web sites include Edmunds.com, an online resource for automotive consumer information; Inside Line, an automotive enthusiast Web site; CarSpace, an automotive social networking Web site; and AutoObserver.com that provides automotive industry commentary and analysis. The company was founded in 1966 and is headquartered in Santa Monica, California with a satellite office in Detroit.

http://investing.businessweek.com/research/stocks/private/snapshot.asp?privcapId=27902



SiteAdvisor for edmunds.com has one post about excessive popups, but is rated green.

Back to top
View users profile Send private message Send email
moike

PIRT Handler
Premium Member

Joined: May 26, 2006
Posts: 1871

Phishing Squad Premium

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 12:27 pm    Post subject: Re: PriceAdventure.com is Safe & A Cool Website!
Reply with quote

WebCops wrote:
PriceAdventure.com is a safe website & Cool Website!

I contacted them personaly and they said that not at any time do they ask for SS#, so I really dont understand why you are lying whom ever started this review.


Check carefully - the original poster and all comments are not concerned with PriceAdventure.com ; they were concerned with the affiliate link which leads to carsdirect.com. That specific CarsDirect page is not an SSL page and asks for SSN. Although CarsDirect is partially at fault for not correcting the situation by switching to SSL, PriceAdventure could help protect the customers that it is sending to carsdirect by changing its affiliate link target to SSL (https://carsdirect.com....).

I'm not sure if the original affiliate link in this message is on the site PriceAdventure any longer - it appears that the home page has been updated and the link in question has been changed or removed.

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
faith_michele

PIRT Handler


Joined: Dec 26, 2005
Posts: 2656

MVP Phishing Squad

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2008 11:43 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Thanks for the update. Very Happy

Back to top
View users profile Send private message Send email
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> Phishing, Fraud and Dastardly Deeds All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Quick Reply:
Username: 

Quote the last message
Attach signature (signatures can be changed in profile)
 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
spacer spacer