| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
Clydesdale
Trooper

 Joined: May 06, 2006 Posts: 18 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 2:19 am Post subject: .cn not working |
|
|
Hi All,
I'm not to familiar with some of the spam nomenclature (name server, DNS, etc.) so please excuse me if I label things incorrectly. I waned to mention that Complaintenator never works with wsry168.com, a functioning URL. I get spammed about two times a day with this site. It's been happening for about two weeks now. I try to use Complaintenator and each time get the warning that .cn is not a normal host, I tell it to go on and it bombs out saying the the entry can not be found.
Just wanted to let you know about it in case something needs to be fixed/fine tuned. You can try wsry168.com to see what happens. It never gets to the point of being able to send an e-mail.
Complaintenator works great, otherwise!
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
pwillener
SRT Trainee
 Premium Member
 Joined: Apr 17, 2006 Posts: 1830 Location: Japan
|
Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 2:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
"Bombs out" is perhaps a bit strong; do you get two warning messages like the one below? Just hit the Enter key (or Y), and it will continue and compose the message. Works perfectly fine for me.
| Description: |
|
| Filesize: |
10.78 KB |
| Viewed: |
1094 Time(s) |

|
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
tembow
Blue Angel Premium Member
 Joined: Oct 10, 2005 Posts: 2942
|
Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 3:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
The name servers for that site belong to a registrar, not a spammer. If you were able to get Complainterator to generate requests to have them shut down, and you didn't bother to check but sent them off, you would be using Complainterator to request the Registrar to kill off all their legitimate customers, and potentially go out of business. That would be disastrous for your credibilty, and the Complainterator's.
Try answering "Yes" to skip them when prompted by the warning.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Clydesdale
Trooper

 Joined: May 06, 2006 Posts: 18 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 4:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I certainly wasn't trying to denigrate Complainterator by using "bombs out." I just meant that things didn't go through to completion. My lack of knowledge with regard to spammers, registrars, name servers, etc., cause me to not have aclue why. That's why I posted.
Anyway, thanks for the response. I'll start clicking "yes," as is suggested. I was clicking "no" and no e-mails were generated.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
AlphaCentauri
SIRT Handler Premium Member
 Joined: Nov 20, 2003 Posts: 2889
|
Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 11:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The original point is still valid, though. I thought the latest version of Complainterator would completely skip ns1.dns.com.cn and other well-known registrar nameservers?
The "bombing out" that Clydesdale is referring to is that it is trying to look up "com.cn." Unusual tlds and two-part tld's like ".co.uk" are what the pop-up window is actually asking about.
In those cases, you could say "no," pause Complainterator when it tries to look up "co.uk," change who.is to look up "spamdomain.co.uk," and then un-pause it, and it will work fine. But as the pop-up says, you have to pay special attention to the output.
The registrar nameserver problem is a separate issue that would still be a problem even for domains like "ns1.bizcn.com" that would not generate the unusual-tld popup window.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
ahoier
SIRT Handler
 Joined: Jan 14, 2006 Posts: 1113 Location: USA
|
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 7:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, it probably couldn't hurt to let bizcn.com (and similar dns.com.cn) that spammers are abusing their nameservers?
Though, the reports/requests would need to be drastically re-written to let them know simply, that a criminal/spammer (criminal sounds better, and not all jurisdictions have "spammer" laws...) is abusing their network resources for use in crime/fraud.
Supported by evidence from spamtrackers.eu and .hk, siteadvisor, maybe e-mail contents, or other details pertaining to the target domain "found in the wild" (spamhaus, google, usenet, etc).
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
tembow
Blue Angel Premium Member
 Joined: Oct 10, 2005 Posts: 2942
|
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 1:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
ahoier - exactly right.
What has to be avoided is a request to remove their own NS. But it is not often that the hard core spammers are stupid enough to use registrar servers - too easy to get removed.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
|