CastleCops, Internet Crime Fighters
Need help? Click here to register for free! Absolutely zero advertisements on this site!

Donation/Premium
spacer
block bottom
Security Central
spacer
· Home
· PIRT/Fried Phish
· MIRT
· SIRT
· Deutsch
· Wiki
· Newsletter
· O16/ActiveX
· CLSID List
· Contest2007
· Downloads
· Feedback (send)
· Forums
· HijackThis
· Hijacktrend
· LSPs
· My Downloads
· O18
· O20
· O21
· O22
· O23
· O9
· Premium
· Private Messages
· Proxomitron
· Reviews
· Search
· StartupList
· Stories Archive
· Submit News
· WsIRT
· Your Account
· Acceptable Use Policy
block bottom
spacer spacer

MONIKER ONLINE SERVICES

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> Complainterator [del.icio.us!] [digg it!] [reddit!]
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pwillener

SRT Trainee
SRT Trainee
Premium Member

Joined: Apr 17, 2006
Posts: 1830
Location: Japan
Premium

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 3:31 am    Post subject: MONIKER ONLINE SERVICES
Reply with quote

These days I get flooded with "EuroSoftware" spam; all domains are registered with MONIKER ONLINE SERVICES (see http://rss.uribl.com/ns/ns444_com.html).

I receive the following bounce for all my complaints to the registrar

Quote:
The following recipient(s) could not be reached:

   abuse@moniker.com on 2008-04-22 12:16
      The message cannot be delivered due to a configuration error on the server. Please contact your Administrator.
      < web1.domainsystems.com #5.3.0 X-Unix; 73>

Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website
AlphaCentauri

SIRT Handler
Premium Member

Joined: Nov 20, 2003
Posts: 2889

Premium

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 3:59 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Well, that's interesting. There is no longer a "Moniker" domains on the ICANN accredited registrar list. However, there are other registrars which list support@moniker.com for their contact addresses.

monte@... may also still work. It was the one we were supposed to use right after abuse@... stopped working.

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
ahoier

SIRT Handler


Joined: Jan 14, 2006
Posts: 1113
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:04 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

hmm. Perhaps this is something to ask ICANN/InterNIC? Perhaps they can't tell us, but if they cancelled someone's accredidation, and "new" registrars are listed, with contact addresses that the "old" registrar used....that doesn't sound right.....

Unless they've given them a "second chance" under the new name(s)? Shocked

Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
pwillener

SRT Trainee
SRT Trainee
Premium Member

Joined: Apr 17, 2006
Posts: 1830
Location: Japan
Premium

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 5:52 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Seems like the 'monte' and 'support' addresses work fine. I just submitted another bunch, and only 'abuse' was rejected.

Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website
tex-writer

Trooper
Trooper


Joined: Mar 13, 2008
Posts: 12
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 5:59 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Oversee.net purchased Moniker in January, 2008.
Perhaps abuse [at] oversee.net may work.

Oversee also owns Nameking.com which is on the list of ICANN registrars.

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
AlphaCentauri

SIRT Handler
Premium Member

Joined: Nov 20, 2003
Posts: 2889

Premium

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:49 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

I suspect it's a question of rebranding rather than anyone losing accreditation. Monte really was only interested in buying and selling valuable domain names, not managing registrations. So the Moniker division may continue to hold auctions, and another one may actually be the ICANN accredited registrar.

Moniker had very quietly improved its record -- there have been no new Yambo nameservers with Moniker, and they suspended many (though not all) of a bunch of domains I submitted a few months ago. They just don't ask for credit for improving or admit there was a problem before.

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
tembow

Blue Angel
Premium Member

Joined: Oct 10, 2005
Posts: 2942

Blue Security Premium

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 10:37 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

I have a list of 3,800 domains registered with Moniker for spam redirection

abkpuisghuy.info ( http://siteadvisor.com/sites/abkpuisghuy.info )
ablaheokcv.info
aboksamvatf.info
abuttercrafty.com
to
zouydujpuzc.info
zpwadpjchd.info
ztfigoih.info
zxjeikbo.info ( http://siteadvisor.com/sites/zxjeikbo.info )

They have not acted on these, despite these 3,800 pages naming them as criminal sponsor.

Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> Complainterator All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Quick Reply:
Username: 

Quote the last message
Attach signature (signatures can be changed in profile)
 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
spacer spacer