|
Donation/Premium |
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
fetuz
Cadet

 Joined: Jun 12, 2008 Posts: 2 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 10:23 pm Post subject: PayPal HTW? |
|
|
So it seems that someone got my PayPal password. I'm asking for your guys' advice because I'm actually pretty stumped on how it was stolen. I'd never fall for a phishing site or email and even If I would, I simply haven't gotten any phishing emails so I've ruled that out. The only thing I know is, I bought something with "Buy It Now" on ebay last night around 11pm. I payed it with PayPal and went to bed. This morning I found that someone had sent themselves a nice amount of money from my PayPal account. The last time I used PayPal before that was a couple weeks ago so I can only assume that this is related to last night's purchase...somehow. I thought maybe I had a trojan or something - which seems unlikely since I use Firefox and I never really download any apps or appZ But I did a full scan with Mcafee and AVG and they found nothing. I NOW have Sunbelt Firewall running and its not detecting any weird outgoing connections. Lastly, my PayPal password was unique and impossible to be guessed and pretty hard to brute-force. I checked if my local DNS had been modified - it doesn't seem to be and I can ping paypal at their real IP.
Any ideas? I'm pretty perplexed! Unless it's that guy with the binoculars across the street....
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
moike
PIRT Handler Premium Member
 Joined: May 26, 2006 Posts: 1873
|
Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 1:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
One possibility is local malware acting as a keylogger, etc. I'm guessing that this is unlikely because of FireFox and AVG, and not downloading anything.
One possibility is that the "Buy it Now" button was corrupted via Javascript in the listing. EBay still has cases where malicious users can embed Javascript in their listings to manipulate end users in various ways - generally nothing as serious as this. What is the listing #? If the listing contained malicious Javacript, it may still be present in the listing.
(Or you may PM the listing # to me if you don't want to post it publicly).
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
moike
PIRT Handler Premium Member
 Joined: May 26, 2006 Posts: 1873
|
Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 3:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the listing #s - the one with the high number of feedback was straightforward and had no Javascript.
The one with 128 feedback had Javascript for 2 auction helper sites : auctiva.com and sellathon.com. Everything appeared OK - the script was concerned only with trying to track the auction on the helper sites, and did not try to manipulate the Buy It Now button. I checked his other listing and the Buy It Now button took me to eBay with no hidden redirect.
There's only the wonderment that a guy with 2 active listings and 128 sales in 5 years need all this auction help - all the fluff only detracts from his listing. But otherwise, that seller and listing pass the legitimate feel test.
So, I have no answer here.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
fetuz
Cadet

 Joined: Jun 12, 2008 Posts: 2 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 4:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you for taking the time - it's much appreciated. This is quite a puzzler - I've been thinking about it all day! Yes, the Ebay listings look pretty sanitary. Spybot, AVG, Mcafee, and Sunbelt Firewall suspect nothing on my PC. Have you heard a trojan that removes itself after it gets what it wants? Not me, usually they are pretty greedy
Even if it was a home-grown (no common signature) key logger, Sunbelt should still pick it up when it phones home. Pretty weird!
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
|
You can post new topics in this forum You can reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You can attach files in this forum You can download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
|