| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
Ikati
Trooper

 Joined: Jun 10, 2008 Posts: 16 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 8:58 pm Post subject: tremendous amount of spam from "google.com/notebook&quo |
|
|
I have some small forums getting spammed to death from accounts set up in google.com/notebook, google.us/notebook, and googleus/group accounts.
I have written google (after spending quite a bit of time trying to figure out where to send spam complaints). and got no response.
so.. then I found this. and, I'm not a lawyer, but it sure sounds like google is saying "hey, anything goes in these accounts.. we aren't responsible" (my interpretation - am I wrong?):
Google Notebook Terms of Service
http://www.google.com/googlenotebook/terms.html
I'm surprised.. and disgusted.
so.. is there any other route to take with all this spam coming from google accounts?
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
brewt
SIRT Handler Premium Member
 Joined: May 29, 2007 Posts: 792 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 8:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
If I understand you correctly, spammers are posting google notebook links to your forum.
Is that correct?
Have you reported the links for shutdown at:
http://www.google.com/support/notebook/?hl=en
?
Also, what forum software are you using?
How much of the administration do you manage?
akismet, http:bl, or other anti-spam solutions may be available for your forum.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
ahoier
SIRT Handler
 Joined: Jan 14, 2006 Posts: 1118 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
yea, use that link brewt posted Just copy/paste in the URLs being abused.
KnujOn may be interested in this spam too.....they have a forumjunk@coldrain.net (I think that is it, but double check knujon.com).
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ikati
Trooper

 Joined: Jun 10, 2008 Posts: 16 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 2:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
| brewt wrote: | If I understand you correctly, spammers are posting google notebook links to your forum.
Is that correct? |
yes.. here is an example (and I will edit this to take it out after you see it:
http://www.google.com/notebook/public/13757765490168891385/BDSe0QgoQ1_zNkKwj
no, but I will report some of them (there were 140 spam messages in the space of an hour).
Thanks for this address.
| brewt wrote: |
Also, what forum software are you using?
How much of the administration do you manage?
akismet, http:bl, or other anti-spam solutions may be available for your forum. |
I use webbbs (a modded version). Actually, the naughty words filter that it has works well, but.. a new type of spam will get thru before I figure out how to block it.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ikati
Trooper

 Joined: Jun 10, 2008 Posts: 16 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 2:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
| ahoier wrote: | yea, use that link brewt posted Just copy/paste in the URLs being abused.
KnujOn may be interested in this spam too.....they have a forumjunk@coldrain.net (I think that is it, but double check knujon.com). |
thanks.. I need to reinstall this into thunderbird.
Thanks, both of you.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
brewt
SIRT Handler Premium Member
 Joined: May 29, 2007 Posts: 792 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 6:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
| Ikati wrote: |
no, but I will report some of them (there were 140 spam messages in the space of an hour). | I recommend collecting the relevant google notebook URLs and reporting them en masse.
Here is a sample report I sent using the form.
They were all acted upon.
You may also wish to note in your report that these google notebook pages serve as gateway pages to malware.
Google is part of the stopbadware.org initiative, so I would expect them to be very responsive to such reports.
In my experience, google notebook abuse reports are acted upon swiftly.
Below is a sample abuse report that I sent in February.
It was handled swiftly.
In this case I didn't even mention that they were linking to the fake codec zlob trojan horse, and yet the pages were still removed quickly by the google notebook support team.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ikati
Trooper

 Joined: Jun 10, 2008 Posts: 16 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 6:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm glad to hear this. I saw some people complaining in the google groups about spam from these google/notebook accounts, and it looked like they weren't getting any response.
I did submit a report.
I had about 150 spam messages posted on my forum with about 45 links per post.
so, I put the links of one message into a report. However, I wish there was an email link where I could forward the emails with the links (I get an email copy of every post on the forum).
Thanks.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
brewt
SIRT Handler Premium Member
 Joined: May 29, 2007 Posts: 792 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 7:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Google responded to me within a day, first using an email autoresponder, and second from a human coming from the same email address.
I've never tried sending to the address though.
If you try sending to the email address in the future, please share your results.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
ahoier
SIRT Handler
 Joined: Jan 14, 2006 Posts: 1118 Location: USA
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ikati
Trooper

 Joined: Jun 10, 2008 Posts: 16 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 7:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
yo.. didn't realize google.com/notebook had this facility (don't use it).. but, boy, I recognize a lot of this from the spam postings on my site.
now, I'm getting them from yahoo sites,too
I'm going to edit the link now - no point in giving these spam sleezebags any more business.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Ikati
Trooper

 Joined: Jun 10, 2008 Posts: 16 Location: USA
|
Posted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
just want to say that I've heard nada from google.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
ahoier
SIRT Handler
 Joined: Jan 14, 2006 Posts: 1118 Location: USA
|
Posted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
well....the couple notebook links I checked here, seem to have been disabled/404ed....so that's a good start 
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
|