CastleCops, Internet Crime Fighters
Need help? Click here to register for free! Absolutely zero advertisements on this site!

Donation/Premium
spacer
block bottom
Security Central
spacer
· Home
· PIRT/Fried Phish
· MIRT
· SIRT
· Deutsch
· Wiki
· Newsletter
· O16/ActiveX
· CLSID List
· Contest2007
· Downloads
· Feedback (send)
· Forums
· HijackThis
· Hijacktrend
· LSPs
· My Downloads
· O18
· O20
· O21
· O22
· O23
· O9
· Premium
· Private Messages
· Proxomitron
· Reviews
· Search
· StartupList
· Stories Archive
· Submit News
· WsIRT
· Your Account
· Acceptable Use Policy
block bottom
spacer spacer

Report Regarding: me@myisp.com from TheInternetWatchdog.com

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> Privacy [del.icio.us!] [digg it!] [reddit!]
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TimeGhost

Major
Major


Joined: Apr 11, 2003
Posts: 750
Location: USA
Team F@H

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 2:34 pm    Post subject: Report Regarding: me@myisp.com from TheInternetWatchdog.com
Reply with quote

I've gotten four email messages from <REPORT_SUBMIT_nn@THEINTERNETWATCHDOG.COM> with the subject Report Regarding: me@myisp.com . The last message came from a server at 66.121.24.212 which connected directly to my ISP's mail server to deliver it.

Here's an excerpt from the message body:

Word-of-Mouth.Info is obligated to inform you via email (if possible) that
a report has just been submitted about the person or persons associated
with this email address (me@myisp.com). *Please find a link to
the report below.

I clicked on the link (Mozilla) and read a page which basically said that somebody has information on the person who uses me@myisp.com and to click here to contact that somebody anonymously.

I've received lots of weird spam, but I can usually figure out the angle. Here it seems someone wants me to click a link on his web site. That's all I can figure out.

And maybe it's a coincidence, but I started receiving these messages after I started using MailwasherPro to bounce selected spam back to the sender.

So what's your opinion? Spam, right?

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
Rik

Sergeant
Sergeant


Joined: Apr 25, 2003
Posts: 77
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 4:04 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

From what I can see on Google you are correct about this being spam. I'll include the link to my search. What concerns me about the >Word-of-Mouth.info< site is that this appears to be a place people can go to anonomously lambast anyone they care to without any thought of repercussions... Evil or Very Mad I saw a report on "Tech Live" the other day on the same type site but the persons responsible for running the site were being sued. anyway here is the link to my search.
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&safe=off&q=%22Word-of-Mouth.Info+%22&btnG=Google+Search

Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> Privacy All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Quick Reply:
Username: 

Quote the last message
Attach signature (signatures can be changed in profile)
 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
spacer spacer