CastleCops, Internet Crime Fighters
Need help? Click here to register for free! Absolutely zero advertisements on this site!

Donation/Premium
spacer
block bottom
Security Central
spacer
· Home
· PIRT/Fried Phish
· MIRT
· SIRT
· Deutsch
· Wiki
· Newsletter
· O16/ActiveX
· CLSID List
· Contest2007
· Downloads
· Feedback (send)
· Forums
· HijackThis
· Hijacktrend
· LSPs
· My Downloads
· O18
· O20
· O21
· O22
· O23
· O9
· Premium
· Private Messages
· Proxomitron
· Reviews
· Search
· StartupList
· Stories Archive
· Submit News
· WsIRT
· Your Account
· Acceptable Use Policy
block bottom
spacer spacer

Fake Paypal Letter

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> Privacy [del.icio.us!] [digg it!] [reddit!]
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jamming

Colonel
Colonel
Premium Member

Joined: Jun 22, 2002
Posts: 1874

Premium

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2003 10:31 am    Post subject: Fake Paypal Letter
Reply with quote

Just wanted to pass this along, I recieved a rather official looking paypal request wanting me to go to a website and confirm my account in formation. Just keep your eye out and remember no online service is going to contact you via online about account in formation. Personally I wouldn't use anyone's paypal on a particular webpage that is not paypal's who knows what they are recording. Be smart and take care all.

Jamming

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
Paul

CastleCops Founder


Joined: Feb 22, 2002
Posts: 27351

Administrators Firetrust Forums Admin MIRT Moderators MVP Phishing Squad Premium Team CC Committee

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2003 11:24 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Can you post a copy?


_________________
Paul Laudanski - http://www.laudanski.com
http://www.linkedin.com/pub/1/49a/17b
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Send email Visit posters website
Jamming

Colonel
Colonel
Premium Member

Joined: Jun 22, 2002
Posts: 1874

Premium

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2003 11:59 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

This is the Text.

Quote:
Please verify your information today!

Dear Paypal Member.
Your account has been randomly flagged in our system as a part of our routine security measures. This is a must to ensure that only you have access and use of your paypal account and to ensure a safe Paypal experience.
We require all flagged accounts to verify their information on file with us.
To verify your information, click here and enter the details requested.

After you verify your information, your account shall be returned to good standing and you will continue to have full use of your account.

Thank you for using PayPal!



Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered.


I will forward a copy of it to you if you want to do something more with it,

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
Paul

CastleCops Founder


Joined: Feb 22, 2002
Posts: 27351

Administrators Firetrust Forums Admin MIRT Moderators MVP Phishing Squad Premium Team CC Committee

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2003 12:04 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Nasty. I also put up at least one article about paypal scams earlier this year.


_________________
Paul Laudanski - http://www.laudanski.com
http://www.linkedin.com/pub/1/49a/17b
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Send email Visit posters website
Jamming

Colonel
Colonel
Premium Member

Joined: Jun 22, 2002
Posts: 1874

Premium

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2003 12:38 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Did you get the copy I sent you?

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
Paul

CastleCops Founder


Joined: Feb 22, 2002
Posts: 27351

Administrators Firetrust Forums Admin MIRT Moderators MVP Phishing Squad Premium Team CC Committee

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2003 1:37 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Didn't check yet.


_________________
Paul Laudanski - http://www.laudanski.com
http://www.linkedin.com/pub/1/49a/17b
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Send email Visit posters website
TimeGhost

Major
Major


Joined: Apr 11, 2003
Posts: 750
Location: USA
Team F@H

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2003 5:46 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

I got something similar that pretended to be from billing@Earthlink.net. It included a link to:
w w w .EL-billingdatabase. n e t. (Note, I added extra spaces to disable the hyperlink.)

I reported it to both abuse@earthlink.net and http://www.ifccfbi.gov.

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
FIO

Trooper
Trooper


Joined: May 30, 2003
Posts: 13


PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2003 1:11 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Damn, that PayPal mail is going to get alot of users.

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
Jamming

Colonel
Colonel
Premium Member

Joined: Jun 22, 2002
Posts: 1874

Premium

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2003 1:14 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Well it may had, but the website was pulled after I notified Paypal.

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
TimeGhost

Major
Major


Joined: Apr 11, 2003
Posts: 750
Location: USA
Team F@H

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2003 2:41 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

I'm glad you reported it, Jamming. I know it's extra work, but the benefits to the Internet community are great. I hope that anyone who receives something he/she suspects is fradulent does the same.

Back to top
View users profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       All -> FavForums -> Privacy All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Quick Reply:
Username: 

Quote the last message
Attach signature (signatures can be changed in profile)
 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
spacer spacer